"...And You Don't Stop" A Celebration of 50 Years of Hip Hop

Legendary independent hip hop and electronic label Tommy Boy Music, announces a new compilation album entitled, …And You Don’t Stop: A Celebration of 50 Years of Hip Hop, set to be released on August 11, the date officially recognized as the birth of hip hop. Commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the genre, the album will feature some of the greatest hits from Tommy Boy’s catalog, with tracks by influential acts like Naughty By Nature, De La Soul, Digital Underground, and Queen Latifah, plus 10 digitally unreleased tracks from G.L.O.B.E & Whiz Kid, Sweet Trio, The Kryptic Krew, and more. …And You Don’t Stop will be available for streaming and download on August 11, with a 6 LP vinyl box set available this October.

Featuring 50 tracks, …And You Don’t Stop is a curated compilation of music from Tommy Boy’s historic catalog, ranging from 1980s foundational hip hop songs to tracks exemplifying hip hop at the turn of the century. The first single will be the previously unreleased “This Beat is From the Bronx” by G.L.O.B.E. and Whiz Kid on August 8. Listen here: https://tommyboyrecords.lnk.to/AYDS_50.

In addition, the vinyl package includes biographical liner notes from veteran hip hop journalist and author Kathy Iandoli. Tommy Boy Music is also releasing new lyric videos for iconic tracks “Gangsta’s Paradise” by Coolio, “Hip Hop Hooray” by Naughty By Nature, and “Ladies First” by Queen Latifah featuring Monie Love, which can be seen on Tommy Boy’s YouTube Channel.

Tommy Boy Music and its parent company Reservoir Media have partnered with the Universal Hip Hop Museum for this upcoming release, and the vinyl will have a QR code for a direct donation to the Museum. Fans can also support the Museum here. In addition, Tommy Boy Music is working closely with the Universal Hip Hop Museum on additional programming surrounding the 50th Anniversary of hip hop, spearheaded by Reservoir Executive Vice President of A&R and Catalog Development Faith Newman, who also serves on the Museum’s Board. Through her membership on the Board, Newman has donated personal memorabilia to the Museum for upcoming exhibitions, and she also helped coordinate the Museum’s Hip Hop’s 50th Birthday Jam!, a free concert and block party event in Mill Pond Park in the Bronx, NY on August 11.

Newman commented, “As someone who has devoted my entire music career to hip hop, it means so much to celebrate this massive milestone for the genre. Even more, to bring together the Universal Hip Hop Museum and the historic songs of Tommy Boy to create this compilation is a once in a lifetime opportunity.” She added, “I am utterly thrilled to help curate and share this music with hip hop fans everywhere.”

“The Universal Hip Hop Museum is proud to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the culture with this historic hip hop compilation from Tommy Boy Music. As a legendary independent label, signing influential acts like Naughty By Nature, De La Soul, Digital Underground, and Queen Latifah and others, they launched the careers of many of today’s Hip Hop icons that we celebrate today,” said President of the Universal Hip Hop Museum Rocky Bucano.

…And You Don’t Stop: A Celebration of 50 Years of Hip Hop Track Listing


1.    “Jazzy Sensation (Manhattan Version -Remix) [feat. Tina B.]” by The Kryptic Krew

2.    “Planet Rock (Vocal & Bonus Beats I)” by Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force

3.    “Play at Your Own Risk” [12” Mix] by Planet Patrol

4.    “Pack Jam (Look Out For the OVC) [12” Mix]” by Jonzun Crew

5.    “Looking for the Perfect Beat (Vocal)” by Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force

6.    “Rock The House (You’ll Never Be) [7” Mix]” by Pressure Drop

7.    “Play That Beat Mr. D.J. [7” Mix]” by G.L.O.B.E. & Whiz Kid


8.    “Itchin' for a Scratch” by Force M.D.’s

9.    “This Beat is From the Bronx (Edit)” by G.L.O.B.E. & Whiz Kid

10. “Facts of Life” by Rock Squad

11. “Believe In Yourself” by Double Cross MC’s

12. “Non-Stop [12” Mix]” by Sweet Trio

13. “Celebrate! (Everybody)” by G.L.O.B.E. & PowWow

14. “Force M.D.’s Meet the Fat Boys [feat. Fat Boys]” by Force M.D.’s

15. “Just Say Stet” by Stetsasonic


16. “Go Stetsa I” by Stetsasonic

17. “Chilly Reds” by Chilly Reds

18. “It’s Time (Edit)” by SS2

19. “Get Ridiculous (Edit)” by MC G.L.O.B.E

20. “Talkin’ All That Jazz” by Stetsasonic

21. “The Humpty Dance” by Digital Underground

22. “Plug Tunin’ (Last Chance To Comprehend)” by De La Soul

23. “Ladies First (Radio Edit) [feat. Monie Love]” by Queen Latifah

24. “Doowutchyalike (Radio Mix)” by Digital Underground


25. “Me Myself and I” by De La Soul

26. “Come Into My House” by Queen Latifah

27. “Kiss You Back (Smack on the Cheek Mix)” by Digital Underground

28. “Ooh I Love You Rakeem (Baggin’ Ladies Mix)” by Prince Rakeem

29. “O.P.P.” by Naughty By Nature

30. “Uptown Anthem” by Naughty By Nature

31. “Latifah’s Had It Up 2 Here” by Queen Latifah

32. “Jump Around” by House of Pain

33. “Gangsta Bitch” by Apache

34. “Hip Hop Hooray” by Naughty By Nature


35. “Come Baby Come” by K7

36. “Wild Thang” by LeShaun

37. “Back From the Dead” by House of Pain

38. “Fantastic Voyage (Timber Mix)” by Coolio

39. “Hip 2 Da Game” by Lord Finesse

40. “Feel Me Flow by Naughty By Nature

41. “Gangsta's Paradise [feat. LV]” by Coolio

42. “L.A., L.A. (Kuwait Mix) [feat. Mobb Deep & Tragedy Khadafi]” by Capone-N-Noreaga


43. “T.O.N.Y. (Top Of New York) [feat. Tragedy Khadafi]” by Capone-N-Noreaga

44. “C U When U Get There [feat. 40 Thevz]” by Coolio

45. “Money (Dollar Bill) [feat. Sadat X]” by Everlast

46. “More Than U Know [feat. De La Soul]” by Prince Paul

47. “Superthug” by Noreaga

48. “Deep Az the Root” by Above the Law

49. “Once Again Here to Kick One For You [feat. Grand Puba & Sadat X]” by Handsome Boy Modeling School

50. “My Projects” by Coo Coo Cal


Tommy Boy Music, a Reservoir-owned company, is a legendary independent hip hop and electronic record label founded in 1981 and acquired by Reservoir in 2021. Tommy Boy Music helped to launch the careers of hip hop icons such as Queen Latifah, Coolio, Naughty By Nature, Digital Underground, House of Pain and Force M.D.’s, among many others. Tommy Boy Music also introduced EDM to mainstream audiences and helped to establish Latin freestyle and Latin hip hop. The label also includes the catalogs of Amherst Records, AVCO Records, and Rasa Music, which hold masters and publishing rights for a diverse collection of ‘70s Soul, Disco, Jazz, and Meditation music. Tommy Boy Music joins Chrysalis Records to form Reservoir’s recorded music division.


Anchored in the birthplace of Hip Hop culture, the Universal Hip Hop Museum broke ground in the Bronx in 2021. Built as a space for audiences, artists, and technology to converge and create unparalleled educational and entertainment experiences, the museum is slated to open in Bronx Point in 2024. The UHHM will celebrate and preserve the history of local and global Hip Hop music and culture past, present, and future. For more information: www.uhhm.org


Other News