Tommy Boy Tuesday: Digital Underground - "The Body-Hat Syndrome" 30th Anniversary

"The Body-Hat Syndrome," the third studio album by Digital Underground released October 5th, 1993, will celebrate its 30th anniversary this upcoming Thursday. Produced by the talented in-house production team known as the D-Flow Production Squad, this album achieved significant chart success. It notably reached the 79th position on the Billboard 200 chart and climbed to the 16th spot on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart in the United States.

This album marked the inclusion of rappers Saafir and Clee into the group's lineup. The lead single, "The Return of the Crazy One," which sampled Parliament's "Aqua Boogie (A Psychoalphadiscobetabioaquadoloop)," was released on September 21, 1993, prior to the album's launch and reached number 77 on the US Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart. The second single, a politically charged anti-racism track titled "Wussup Wit the Luv," featured a guitar solo by Funkadelic guitarist Michael Hampton and a verse by 2Pac, and it peaked at number 99 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart. Music videos were created for both singles, and this album marked 2Pac's last collaboration with Digital Underground. Additionally, the album includes "The Humpty Dance Awards," a humorous nod to the numerous artists who sampled "The Humpty Dance" before 1993, a list that has since grown to over 50 artists.

The Boston Globe hailed The Body-Hat Syndrome as one of the best hip-hop albums of 1993.

Other News